8 Responses to “Brand series: Gap is bigger than a logo”

  1. Gap has been a little lost in the middle for years, literally and figuratively. In the US, consumers can shop at their lower cost/acceptable quality Old Navy stores or at their higher end/better quality Banana Republic stores (yes, I know they are opening BR stores in the UK now). Over the last few years I’ve wondered what demographic Gap is after? In UK store terms are they after the TopShop/H & M crowd or the slightly upscale crowd who shop at Reiss/Massimo Dutti?

    They seem to change their mind with each new season. Most of the time I leave the store empty handed and scratching my head. Although I did recently buy a nice moleskin jacket there.

    Maybe their logo change is an attempt to join the conversation again. To create a buzz, negative or positive. Time will tell if it goes the way of ill-fated attempts at updating a brand like “New” Coke in the 80’s.

    • Thanks, M. That’s the thing – so far we’ve seen a new logo but what does it mean? Has the Gap proposition changed? It’s not clear to date, so perhaps time will tell….

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The Bank Channel, Valerie, Kate Thompson, Ben Janousek, Jill Ruthenberg and others. Jill Ruthenberg said: RT @wisdomlondon: Brand series: Gap is bigger than a logo: http://wp.me/pN3pZ-ff […]

  3. I agree with Marc, I often found myself going in and leaving a bit flummoxed over who they’re targeting. I used to shop there specifically because I’m petite and they offered the Ankle range of clothing. Now they have almost no jeans for those under 5 foot 3, and I slowly stopped shopping there because of it.

    I do feel the logo is a big part of the brand though – I have an immediate association with the logo on the high street and it does draw me in. It’s not that I mind a logo change, but it’s just such an unmemorable one. It’s the same reason I don’t like the Topshop logo. There’s no imagination in it at all!

    • I can’t actually picture the Top Shop logo…but I know I love Top Shop. Maybe some brands do transcend the visual because they’re such a part of our high street and therefore our consciousness’?

  4. A good argument Kate, and we’ve been here before with other brands. I also agree that being safe isn’t always a bad thing. But this change isn’t safe – it’s a big departure from their long established iconic logo. Retail brands as so sensitive to small changes in popularity I can’t undertsand why they would take such a big risk with this one. It could easily backfire.

    • Really interested to see how it plays out. I think what would make the difference now to those who are really a bit confused about it is some really concerted marketing efforts that demonstrate the story behind it, what ‘new’ Gap is all about?

  5. Looks like Gap wanted to make conversation about the brand via changing to contradictory logo and have someone use Twitter to flame discussion.

    If that is not the cheap way for public I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

