10 000 Little Thoughts


I’ve just passed my 10 000th tweet. A year ago, I was not an active Twitterer, now a good part of my life is played out through it, be because it’s such an important communications channel for me personally, and for my business.

So those 10 000 little thoughts represent not only a personal minor milestone, but paint a real picture of my life – personal and professional – over the past year. Has it been worth my time? Undoubtedly. I’ve connected with an amazing community which genuinely supports my business, I’ve learned more than I can ever remember learning in such a short period of time. I’ve made amazing friends and met people who have genuinely changed my life.

It also answers a question I had year ago about Twitter and why I should use it. Those 10 000 little thoughts might seem insignificant at the time, sometimes irreverent, but I’m not the best judge of how meaningful they are. It’s the people who choose to interact or not, listen or ignore, follow or unfollow who decide that. And for my part, the value is in the millions of little thoughts of others I consume, act on and learn from. That’s the real value of Twitter.

4 Responses to “10 000 Little Thoughts”

  1. Ah, lovely piece. I thought you might be interested in this, just for a bit of fun – http://mytweetcloud.com/ – would be an interesting way to round off your 10,000 tweets. Congrats! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sounds like your Twitter experience is a good one, that’s nice to read.
    I’m glad to be among your Twitter friends, and it really does feel like friendship…

    As Jonathan Livingstone Seagull said,

    If our friendship depends on things like space and time, then when we finally overcome space and time, we’ve destroyed our own brotherhood! But overcome space, and all we have left is Here. Overcome time, and all we have left is Now. And in the middle of Here and Now, don’t you think that we might see each other once or twice?

    Richard Bach

    • Absolutely, Chris. I feel very fortunate – and love that i have friends in other countries who I’m bound to meet some dat – well, I hope so anyway. I also love that I have friends who share lovely quotes… appreciated!

Leave a Reply

